Artistry in Action 2017 Class #1- The Week’s Blog Posts & Articles

Here are the Week 1 blog items. Please read or watch by next Class Weds April 5. Most should open up in a new page. Return to this page and post a comment on at least one item in the comments section below

GOAL SETTING

Judge a goal by how well it changes your actions in the present moment-

http://sivers.org/goals

Define your goal (your final destination) – then contact someone who’s there, and ask how to get there.

http://sivers.org/call-the-destination

WORKING AT YOUR ART

“What if you can’t Get Paid for doing your art?”

http://enteringtheprofessionmusicbiz.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/what-being-a-professional-means-maybe-you-cant-get-paid-for-doing-your-art/

“Beware of turning Hobbies into Jobs”

http://enteringtheprofessionmusicbiz.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/pre-workshop-readingbeware-of-turning-hobbies-into-jobs/

“Arts majors jump ahead of tech grads in landing jobs”

 
What can you really do with a degree in the arts?

AMANDA PALMER/“Nothing for Money”

http://www.ted.com/talks/amanda_palmer_the_art_of_asking#t-801637

http://amandapalmer.net/blog/20120919/

http://justincolletti.com/2012/09/13/in-response-to-amanda-palmer/

AUDIENCE  “Why should they come?”

http://www.missionparadox.com/the_mission_paradox_blog/2014/03/delivering-the-feeling.html

MORE GETTING PAID FOR YOUR ART

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/07/31/arts/design/looking-at-how-performers-are-paid-for-performance-art.html?_r=0

11 thoughts on “Artistry in Action 2017 Class #1- The Week’s Blog Posts & Articles

  1. I appreciate all the readings as they resonate with my current artistic process and the concepts I am struggling with. I agree with the reading that if we do not actively take up actions to achieve a goal, it is not a good goal. I also appreciated the mentoring and guidance around working for a purpose other than money. In my works I am grounded in the idea that if I am doing anything for the money, then I am doing the wrong thing. Fortunately this has kept me grounded in choosing where I want to channel my artistic energies. Lastly, I found it useful to think about being paid for my appearances. Standard living wage multiplied by the hours I will be at an event and the added equation of hours it takes to prepare and to compensate for hours I could be earning elsewhere.

    Like

  2. While I found all of these pieces quite interesting and engaging, “Delivering the Feeling” was a great reminder of what to keep at the forefront of my mind when working with groups. I have a tendency to forget about the audience when performing, focusing mainly on how the group is interacting and how I can best use my abilities in that context. While that is all well and good, the audience’s engagement should be paramount. I will have to consider ways to let the audience in on the interaction between group members, giving them an inside look into our excitement, so they can be a part of it as well.

    Like

  3. I most identified with Amanda Palmer’s TED talk when she discusses her experience working as a street performer. She felt even though there were some who would yell, “get a job,” that this performance was her job and it made an impact on those she encountered. That job also translated heavily into her music career by realizing the give and take of asking and thanking someone for doing something. She was able to have a relationship with her fans that allowed her to couch surf, have intimate interpersonal experiences, and also the first band to be entirely crowdfunded. The power of asking, and seeing people, and committing to interactions from the heart all are entirely possible and powerful experiences for artists of all disciplines.

    Like

  4. I found the four articles I read highly informative but the one that stuck out to me was “what can you really do with a degree in the arts”. I have heard the general idea from almost everyone I have discussed going back to school with. I feel fortunate knowing the reality they present but I have become comfortable with the idea of working in a line of work that is not directly related to my artistic ambitions. I feel this article can also be related to “beware of turning hobbies into jobs” in the sense that it may be disappointing not working in the field you hoped for but in the end the art you create is more true to you and less commercially driven.

    Like

  5. Watching Amanda Palmers ted talk on the art of asking, I felt I could relate to a lot. I have in the past undervalued my work and knowledge and experience. As well as seen it many times with arrests friends. But I have also been fortunate enough to have people offer to buy my work, and feeling that exchange and the value shared, was insightfull.
    I defiently like the idea of expanding how we see value and trade.

    Like

  6. The idea of making money from art seems somewhat contradictory to me. Art being an almost spiritual kind of practice doesn’t lend itself towards ownership since anyone can hear a piece copy it and call it their own.
    In response to “Beware of turning Hobbies into Jobs” it seems that the intentions of one’s art is what is most motivating. If one appreciates/creates art for itself they don’t need another’s opinion to justify their own, and will not waste time getting to work. Can one appreciate/create art in a vacuum? Or do we need to be able to relate to each other through art? I guess a big distinction can be made between art that got popular versus art that tries to be popular.

    Like

  7. The two articles, “What if you can’t Get Paid for doing your art?” and “Beware of turning Hobbies into Jobs,” propose a similar theme that artists should be wary of pursuing their art as a career with the fear of corrupting their art forms. While there is some truth in this, I do not believe it is a useful philosophy for artists who have not tried to enter the marketplace. As a freelance musician or artist, it is extremely difficult to make a living right out of college without a secondary income; however, with the dedication of time and resources, there is a good chance you can find a route to success. I see my parents as proof of this concept: two freelance artists (one an architect and one an art teacher) who developed their own businesses over the past 25 years, making a good living without entirely sacrificing their love of art. As far as my art form, Alan Jones is the first person I look to as an example of someone who has made a great living (for a musician) through his teaching program, AJAM, and is gratified by his work.

    Like

  8. I found all of these blog posts/articles to be quite insightful. I really liked Amanda Palmer’s philosophy on connecting with the audience and fans as people and not just a means to make money. After reading the response to Amanda Palmer by Justin Colletti, however, I couldn’t believe she was asking musicians to volunteer when she’s making money. I think it’s important to value the work of artists and much like the article from the New York Times about artists getting paid for their work, I believe Amanda Palmer–and everyone else for that matter–should practice fair labor standards for all artists and not expect that for only herself.

    Personally, my favorite blog post was the one about goal setting. That one really hit home. I’ve never believed in New Year’s resolutions so I don’t know why I didn’t think to apply that to regular goals as well. If it’s not keeping me up at night to accomplish, then is it really a goal worth keeping?

    Like

  9. All of these articles were really interesting and thought-provoking. The goal setting article was helpful in particular. I have often found myself setting big goals too far ahead in the future and getting discouraged on how I would achieve them. Focusing on the present and setting goals that I can take action on immediately definitely will help my motivation and help me succeed towards my long-term ones.

    Reading the articles about turning your passion into a job was also interesting. I’ve found that it has and will be a struggle being in the field of art. It can be a blurry line when considering on when you do what you love for free, or when you deserve payment for your art. While of course it would be incredible to make a living from your passion, it’s very easy for that joy and love to disappear in the desire to get paid. There have been a lot of successful people who are creating art and making money, but there have also been a lot of failures. I am very passionate about what I do and what I want in my art, and I need to make sure I never lose that.

    Like

  10. Having a hobby and making a career out of it, seems like a good idea in theory. One might assume that it would be wonderfully fulfilling. However the example given directly contradicts that notion. The issue presented is that the hobby becoming a career leaves a void. There is no longer something to take up free time, and the accountant turned spoon appraiser took up drinking in turn. I think that the answer to making a career out of something you love is being able to take a break or vacation. At the end of the work day, one has to be able to set down what they are doing and relax. If that equilibrium between work and the other things in ones life is unbalanced, there can be dire consequences.
    I also was intrigued by ‘Call the destination, and ask for directions’ because of the audaciousness of the author. He shows a genuine drive to be improving his art accessibility, but without being a showoff or losing humility.

    Like

  11. The article that stuck out to me the most would be the one about not turning your hobbies into jobs. I feel that with the specific anecdotes described in that article, it would certainly make sense to make that argument – but those anecdotes are very limited in perspective. For a man’s only hobby to be so niche as antique spoons, and to ultimately devote all his time to that, it is no surprise that he would end up bored. And for someone whose passion is music to end up in a music-adjacent career, he is not really making his hobby his job to begin with, merely ending up next to people who did what he did not. It is very possible that people can have a hobby, and go about making it their life in a smart and well thought-out way, and still have other interests that aren’t their careers. Oddly, the other article that I took issue with would be the first one, which seems to have the opposite message. To assume that anyone with a dream or goal in life has the time, finances, and other resources to immediately devote to their goal is very presumptuous, and having to put off a goal to achieve it down the road while meanwhile finishing an education, helping their family, paying off medical bills, or so on, means the goal is not worthwhile is a very discouraging thing to suggest. Overall, a majority of these articles came off as being very one-sided in some way or another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

